World of WearableArt is excited to reveal that 115 designers from 22 countries and regions have been announced as finalist designers for this year’s World of WearableArt Awards Show. 


The world’s most significant wearable art competition is returning for its 31st season this year in Wellington from 26 September to 13 October. About 60,000 people are expected to attend the 2019 WOW Awards Season.

WOW Competition Director, Heather Palmer, said this year’s finalists’ work is outstanding, with the designers pushing the boundaries of invention and scale, using diverse materials and progressive technology:

It never ceases to amaze me each year the sheer brilliance of our designers’ work and this year is no exception. There has been such a high level of experimentation and innovation by the designers this year, using materials in unexpected ways to create bizarre, edgy works of art.



The first round of judging took place in Nelson over the weekend of 5 – 7 July. This year’s judging panel includes WOW Founder and resident judge, Dame Suzie Moncrieff, designer James Dobson of New Zealand fashion label Jimmy D, and multi-media artist & sculptor Gregor Kregar.

This judging panel will also be joined by fashion activist and celebrity stylist, B. Akerlund, Sir Richard Taylor, CEO and Creative Director of Weta Workshop and Cirque du Soleil’s Creative Intelligence Team Lead + Conceptrice, Melissa Thompson.

The finalist garments will go through two more stages of the judging process, where they will be seen on stage with choreography, lighting and music ahead of Opening Night on Thursday 26 September.

In total 108 garments will be brought to life as part of the 2019 WOW Awards Show. 

Be the first to see these incredible works of art come to life on stage at the TSB Arena – good seats are still available on Opening Night!

2019 WOW Awards Show | TSB Arena, Wellington
26 September – 13 October

Tickets on sale now. Book yours today!


Australia (14 finalist designers)

Austria (1 finalist designer)

Belarus (1 finalist designer)

China (10 finalist designers)

Czechia (2 finalist designers)

France (1 finalist designer)

Germany (2 finalist designers)

Hong Kong (1 finalist designer)

India (5 finalist designers)

Indonesia (1 finalist designer)

Ireland (1 finalist designer)

Kazakhstan (2 finalist designers)

Netherlands (1 finalist designer)

New Zealand (43 finalist designers)

Philippines (4 finalist designers)

Poland (2 finalist designers)

Russian Federation (1 finalist designer)

Singapore (2 finalist designers)

Sweden (1 finalist designer)

Taiwan (7 finalist designers)

United Kingdom (4 finalist designers)

United States (8 finalist designers)